Blogger Widgets Blogger Widgets

Monday, December 5, 2011

History of Manipuri Movies

Manipuri Cinema have come a long way since 1920 and have evolved as one of the biggest film industry in the Northeast region of India. Filmmaking in Manipur was pioneered by Shree Govindajee Film Company (SGFC) founded between 1946 and 1947. MAINU PEMCHA (1948) was the result of the first attempt at making films by the Manipuris. The first Motion Picture theatres in the state were established in Imphal after the Second World War. The first fully fledged feature film Matamgee Manipur, directed by Karam Manmohan Devkumar Bose, was screened on the 9th of April, 1972 at Usha Cinema, Friends Talkies in Imphal and Azad cinema in Kakching. With the establishment of Film Society in 1966 , Imphal Cine Club in 1979 and Manipur Film Development Council (MFDC) in 1980, Manipuri Cinema got the required momentum and made an indelible mark both at the National and International level.

Till date nine Manipuri films have already bagged prestigious National Awards. The following Manipuri films were also screened in celebrated International Film Festivals around the globe.

The following Manipuri films were shown in Film Festivals on International level.


The first Indian Film to get the Golden Montgolfiere at the "Nantes Three Continents Festival" was the Manipuri Film IMAGEE NINGTHEM (My Son, My Precious) directed by Aribam Syam Sharma and scripted by MK Binodini. Eight Year old Leikhendra Singh bagged the BEST CHILD ACTOR in India awards in the year 1982.
However, after a glorious history, celluloid era has effectively had its last appearance in 1998. And digital film making was introduced in the industry. The following is the list of the films that were made including the name of the director and producer during the period 1972-1998. Documentary films and VHS format movies are not included.

Manipuri celluloid films

Year Title Producer Director
1972 Matamgee Manipur, Karam Manmohan Devkumar Bose
1972 Brojendrogee Luhongba, SN Chand SN Chand
1974 Lamja Parsuram, G Narayan Sharma A. Shyam Sharma
1974 Ngak-e-ko Nangse, Wangkhem Basanta SN Chand
1976 Saphabi G Narayan, Sharma A. Shyam Sharma
1979 Khuthang Lamjel, Thongam Haridas GC Tongbra
1979 Olangthagee Wangmadasu, G Narayan Sharma A. Shyam Sharma
1981 Imagee Ningthem, K Ibohal Sharma A. Shyam Sharma
1981 Khonjel, M Nilamani M Nilamani
1981 Wangma Wangma, Durlav L Banka Sharma
1983 Sana Keithel, Thoudam Doren MA Singh
1983 Paokhum Ama, Film Div. of India A. Shyam Sharma
1984 Thaba, Khaidem Sakhi Devi K Ibohal Sharma
1984 Langlen Thadoi, Khaidem Sakhi Devi MA Singh
1984 Yairipok Thambalnu, H Gehendra L Banka Sharma
1986 Iche Sakhi Thoudam Doren MA Singh
1988 Kombirei, G Narayan Sharma G Narayan Sharma
1990 Isanou, Gauhati Drsn A Shyam Sharma
1990 Engallei, M Kumarjit RK Kripa
1990 Paap, M Nilamani M Nilamani
1992 Khonthang, Thoungamba Oken Amakcham
1993 Sambal Wangma, Sobita K Ibohal Sharma
1993 Thambal, Vishnu/Surjakanta RK Kripa
1993 Madhavi, K Bhupendra L Banka
1994 Mayophigee Macha, Thouyangba Oken Amakcham
1995 Sanabi, NFDI/Drdrsn A. Shyam Sharma
1995 Khamba Khamnu, Ch Shyamcharan Ch Shyamcharan
1996 Kanaga Hinghouni, Chand Heisnam Chand Heisnam/Vishwamitra
1997 Sanamanbi Sanarei, G Narayan Sharma G Narayan Sharma
1997 Khamba Thoibi, M Nilamani M Nilamani
1997 Chinglensana, Th. Binapani Rajen Meitei
1997 Iraal Oirage, Chand Heisnam Vishwamitra/Kishore Kr
1997 Yenningtha Amada, M Nilamani/Ashwini M Nilamani/Ashwini Kr
1998 Amambasu Anganbani, Chand Heisnam Vishwamitra/Kishore Kr
1998 Thawaigi Thawai, Thoungamba Thoungamba/Thouyangba

No comments:

Post a Comment